Annons:
Tagsarticlesdog-trainingaversive-methodscesar-millan
Read 133 times
Tismon
2021-12-04 04:41

What's wrong with Cesar Millan?

Image 1. Click to open in original size.

Whenever the topic of dog trainers is brought up, Cesar Millan is the name who is constantly mentioned. His television show called "The dog Whisperer" is the most famous tv show there is about dog training and it is being broadcasted world wide. I have previously made threads discussing why aversives are bad and the myth of the alpha leader. In this text we're going to talk about the famous Millan, why so many people love him and why all of his training and dog philosophy is wrong and even harmful to adopt.

Who is Cesar Millan?

Cesar Millan is a self taught dog trainer who grew up in Culiacán, Mexico. He became famous when National Geographic started casting his tv show called The Dog Whisperer. In the show he trains and rehabillitates dogs with all kinds of problematic behaviours, ranging anywhere from mild to severe.

His likeable personality made it easier for the show to catch traction but what really made him stand out was his ability to train every dog, even dogs who were deemed untrainable - dogs that would otherwise be euthanized. It's heartwarming to save dogs, it's heartwarming to reunite dogs with their humans into a functional and harmonious life full of love and balance. His message of love and that all dogs can be trained gave many hope.

There are things Cesar brings up that are actually helpful and correct. Those things are general statements that are shared by all dog trainers, such as:

• Dogs need exercise
  • Don't give up on difficult dogs
  • Often it is the "Human" who needs to be taught
  • Dogs needs clear communication, boundaries and directions.
  • Your body language matters a lot
  • Dogs need structure in their every day life - as they are creatures of habits

What's wrong with him then?